Thread Count keeps increasing

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

nandan

Thread Count keeps increasing

Postby nandan » 08 Jul 2012, 07:52

Hi,

I am making a turn based multi-player game with some fixed rooms and some dynamic rooms. I also create, around 20 max, NPCs, which are created and disconnected dynamically in room extension. When I start the server the thread count is as low as 40 and within 17 - 18 hrs with the peak of 36 users it shoots up to 600+. [The active thread list shows a lot of threads named pool-n-thread-1] I do not know what is happening, I am quite new to java and smartfoxserver. Please help.

Thanks in advance.

Nandan
rjgtav

Re: Thread Count keeps increasing

Postby rjgtav » 08 Jul 2012, 12:12

Hi.
Are you using anything Timer related on your code? Please make sure that you use the TaskScheduler that comes with SFS2X (more information here).
And you might also consider using a global Task that iterates through every room instead of having one task for every room.
Skills: SFS Pro, SFS2X, AS2.0/AS3.0, Java, HTML5/CSS3/JS, C#
Portfolio: https://rjgtav.wordpress.com/
SFS Tutorials: http://sfs-tutor.blogspot.com/ - Discontinued. Some examples may be bugged.
nandan

Postby nandan » 08 Jul 2012, 14:59

Yes I am using TaskScheduler that comes with SFS2x at room level, that is restarted for each turn, is that a bad idea? How do I use global task, please help.
rjgtav

Postby rjgtav » 08 Jul 2012, 15:09

Well, by a global Task I mean a task that runs at the Zone-Level, which has a local list of the rooms that will be iterated in each run.
If you're using this for a turn based, the best way would be to run the global task every second and reduce a time variable by 1 every run. Then, when that variable reaches 0, you execute the necessary code.
SFS Tutorials: http://sfs-tutor.blogspot.com/ - Discontinued. Some examples may be bugged.