Help required setting up BlueBox

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

Madhav
Posts: 78
Joined: 27 Nov 2012, 04:41

Re: Help required setting up BlueBox

Postby Madhav » 10 Mar 2014, 07:01

Hello,

It looks like your server is not reachable. It might be due to a client or server side firewall.

I don't think so. Because the error I get is not always happening!!! The error is random, sometimes it show up and sometimes client logs in successfully.

And as per SFS documentation says "If enabled, SmartFoxServer serves the Flash Master Socket Policy over TCP port 843 as required by Adobe's security restrictions"
At admin panel- Use Master Socket Policy is enabled. Then how come I'm getting this warning at client side

Code: Select all

Warning: Timeout on xmlsocket://yy.yyy.yy.yy:843 (at 3 seconds) while waiting for socket policy file.  This should not cause any problems, but see http://www.adobe.com/go/strict_policy_files for an explanation.


Also I cant bind socket to port 843, below is the boot log

Code: Select all

10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,666 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Session manager ready: com.smartfoxserver.bitswarm.sessions.DefaultSessionManager@11fcf9cb
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,705 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | TCP Selector opened
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,738 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | UDP Selector opened
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,759 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | AcceptSelector opened
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,770 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Added bound tcp socket --> 127.0.0.1:9933
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,781 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Added bound udp socket --> 127.0.0.1:9933
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,782 | WARN  | main | bootLogger |     | Was not able to bind socket: { 127.0.0.1:843, (Tcp) }
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,782 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Added bound tcp socket --> xx.xxx.xxx.xxx:9933
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,783 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Added bound udp socket --> xx.xxx.xxx.xxx:9933
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,783 | WARN  | main | bootLogger |     | Was not able to bind socket: { xx.xxx.xxx.xxx:843, (Tcp) }
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,800 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Controller started: com.smartfoxserver.v2.controllers.SystemController -- Queue: 0/20000
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,801 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Controller started: com.smartfoxserver.v2.controllers.SmasherController -- Queue: 0/1000
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,812 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Controller started: com.smartfoxserver.v2.controllers.ExtensionController -- Queue: 0/20000
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,813 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | IOHandler: com.smartfoxserver.v2.protocol.SFSIoHandler@b185a44
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,813 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | SocketReader started
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,815 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | SocketAcceptor initialized
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,828 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Socket Writer started (pool size:3)
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,829 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | DatagramReader started
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,830 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | Security Manager started
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,835 | INFO  | main | bootLogger |     | [[[ ===--- Boot sequence complete ---=== ]]]
10 Mar 2014 | 06:10:15,836 | INFO  | Scheduler1-thread-1 | bootLogger |     | Scheduler started: scheduler


Please help me out :(
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 23008
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Help required setting up BlueBox

Postby Lapo » 10 Mar 2014, 09:49

At admin panel- Use Master Socket Policy is enabled. Then how come I'm getting this warning at client side

Probably because you haven't added a listener for port 843 in the server settings, but this is not so important, and I would say 99% of our customers don't use this feature.

The policy can be served on port 9933 without any problems, also the BlueBox connection doesn't require a master socket policy either. The policy is grabbed by the Flash Player via an HTTP request.

Also I cant bind socket to port 843, below is the boot log

Yes, that's because if you are running Linux as the OS you can't bind any TCP port < 1024 without being root. That's why 99% of the users don't use it.

How are you testing this? Is the SWF files served from an http server? Or are you running it from the file system?
Is the server running on a public IP, if so can you send me the IP address? You can use a private message for that.


Thanks
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 23008
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Help required setting up BlueBox

Postby Lapo » 10 Mar 2014, 10:38

Hi,
I've got the PM. I have tried connecting over 30 times to your server with the BlueBox by pointing a test client to a wrong port on your server.
They all connected successfully. Not a single problem.

I don't think you really have a connectivity issue. Maybe your client side connection is not very good. That could explain it.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
Madhav
Posts: 78
Joined: 27 Nov 2012, 04:41

Re: Help required setting up BlueBox

Postby Madhav » 10 Mar 2014, 10:47

Hello

That because ive given allow all ports in crossdomain file.

Code: Select all

<allow-access-from domain="*" to-ports="*"/>


I'm not saying the error shows up always. Its kinda random.

What does this line mean
Maybe your client side connection is not very good


A slow internet connection?
And Also my sfs-config file is

Code: Select all

<SmartFoxConfig>

   <!-- Mandatory Settings -->
   <ip>xx.xxx.xxx.xx</ip>
   <port>9933</port>
   <zone>MyIsland</zone>
   <!-- End Mandatory Settings -->
   
   <debug>true</debug>
   
   <httpPort>8080</httpPort>
   <useBlueBox>true</useBlueBox>
   <blueBoxPollingRate>500</blueBoxPollingRate>
   
</SmartFoxConfig>


Then it should atleast connect through bluebox right? Why does it completely fail!?
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 23008
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Help required setting up BlueBox

Postby Lapo » 10 Mar 2014, 11:41

What I am saying is that if there was a problem with the server it would have failed for me. I've done more than 30 connection tests, it never failed. It doesn't look like a server issue.

You say it's kind of random, I get that. That's the nature of internet connections, at times they may fail, there can be dozens of reasons, many of which aren't your direct control.

Then it should atleast connect through bluebox right? Why does it completely fail!?

Connections can fail. If you're having a network problem you won't be able to connect, there's not much else you can do. It's not that the BlueBox can magically override any network issue. Of course since the problem is random and not very frequent it's likely you will be able to connect on the next attempt.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
Madhav
Posts: 78
Joined: 27 Nov 2012, 04:41

Re: Help required setting up BlueBox

Postby Madhav » 10 Mar 2014, 12:21

Haha :D

I wasn't complaining that its a server issues :) I was just trying to solve the problem I was facing and understand the concept as well.
Now that you've told it might be a network issues that explains the random behaviour I was facing and no more queries.

Thanks a lot Lapo for your support and detailed explanation :). Cheers
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 23008
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Help required setting up BlueBox

Postby Lapo » 10 Mar 2014, 13:21

You're welcome :)
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games

Return to “SFS2X Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests